>Discography->Early Yma Sumac: the Imma Sumack sessions
Please join the fan club today!
Recording Details
Early Yma Sumac:
the Imma Sumack sessions

catalog no: JOM-1027-3
All eighteen tracks from Yma Sumac's first recording sessions in 1943, along with five others by El Conjunto Folklorico Peruano de Moisés Vivanco and soloists that were part of the same sessions. This earliest material was recorded in Argentina under the name Imma Sumack, which was her original name. This is the demo that went on to be released by Blue Orchid in the United Kingdom.

This item or the material it contains is available in the Shopping area of this site. A copy exists in the Archives in case there are specific questions about it. The Tiki logo is not on the actual artwork. Archives - Stereo Conversion - 2011 United States   Compact Disc

Historical notes
Liner Notes

Early Yma Sumac – the Imma Sumack Sessions presents, for the first time, all of Yma Sumac's early recordings made before she came to the U.S. These recordings represent her origins as a folk singer and as such are invaluable documents.  Recorded for Odeon under her original name of Imma Sumack, these 78 rpm disks were originally recorded in Argentina in 1943. 

Here is a brief exerpt from the extensive 16-page booklet which also has never before seen photos and a detailed song-by-song analysis:

It is difficult to describe in words the charming beauty and extraordinary appeal of these 1943 recordings. There is an honest simplicity, a probity that pervades the performances. It is an artlessness of execution cleverly meshed with great vocal virtuosity, which give these recordings their strong appeal. Throughout the music Yma shows an almost naïve unconcern with the complex vocal lines and the native accompaniment of drums, flute, guitar, accordion and rattles underline the purity of her clean, clear, high soprano. . . . . Occasionally minor flaws appear - a misplaced note, an error in the placement of her voice, or smudged high staccato in a difficult passage. Overriding this, however, is Yma's vocal poise, which is remarkably secure and authoritative for one so young. For such an inexperienced performer, her tonal maturity is as surprising as her technical assurance. The operatic fullness of her voice and the nonchalant abandon with which she attacks difficult coloratura give a peculiar distinctiveness to the songs. This aura is enhanced by the juxtaposition of Yma's cultured voice and its European-sounding virtuosity with simple, primitive arrangements of ethnic material. The most impressive thing about these disks, however, is Yma's uninhibited joy of singing: it is natural and unaffected.

This Compact Disc was produced with design and layout by Don Pierson
All of the material used, unless noted otherwise, is from the Yma Sumac Homepage and Archives

Copyright © 2011 by - A ShamLys Production - All rights reserved

(select song title to see other recordings with it)
    1. Overture    (needle touchdown) - :04
    2. Virgenes del Sol    (trad. arr. Jorge Bravo de Rueda, Moisés Vivanco) - 3:21
    3. Amor Indio    (Moisés Vivanco) - 2:16
    4. Qué Lindos Ojos    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:18
    5. Cholitas Puneñas    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:17
    6. Carnaval Indio    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:27
    7. Andina    ((instrumental) Moisés Vivanco) - 3:15
    8. Cholo Traicionero    (Moisés Vivanco) - 2:52
    9. Pariwana    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 3:38
    10. Wifalitay    (Moisés Vivanco) - 3:33
    11. Melgar    (Benigno Ballón Farfán - arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 3:06
    12. Te Quiero    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 3:25
    13. Mashiringa    ((vocals by Rosita Vivanco) trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:51
    14. La Sirena    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:59
    15. Amor    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 3:09
    16. La Benita    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:45
    17. Waraka Tusuy    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 3:19
    18. Punchauniquipy    ((instrumental) Baltazar Zegarra) - 3:09
    19. Payande    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 3:12
    20. Picaflor    (music: Rosario Huirse Muñoz, lyrics: Carlos. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:18
    21. Un Amor    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 1:41
    22. Un Picaflor la Desangro    ((vocals by Rosita Vivanco) arr: Moisés Vivanco) - 2:40
    23. A Ti Solita Te Quiero    (trad. arr. Moisés Vivanco) - 2:22
    24. bonus track

    25. Mi Vida Y La Tuya    ((vocals by Los Chalanes) Eduardo Márquez Talledo) - 2:38
    26. total play time (approx): 65:35

    Show others with this title (2 entries) Back to Top