>Shopping->Yma Rocks (non-serialized version)
Please join the fan club today!
Enhance Your Yma Sumac Collection!
Recordings - Compact Discs - Current Issues
    Return to listings

Yma Rocks (non-serialized version)
This is the first official release of Yma Sumac's fantastic 1971 rock session, made for general distribution.  It is not a true REissue since it was made from new mastering with a clearer, cleaner mix than the original album so even if you already have Miracles, Yma Rocks! is a must too. All-new 8-page full-color booklet with new notes, new never before seen photos and some redesign using the original graphics by noted artist Raymond Bennett.

Being Yma Sumac's first complete recording since her famous Fuego del Ande LP in 1959, it features the ten original tracks from Miracles plus two that were previously-unreleased, making twelve fantastic songs in all.  Yma Sumac growls, swoops and soars through her five-octave range with ease, with her voice and wonderful improvisational skills fully in control.

Yma Rocks!, with its fresh and new mastering, is a true rock tour de force and a real listening experience for both fans and newcomers alike.

A special serialized Collectors' Edition is also available exclusively on with very few remaining and there will be no reissues once the current supply is gone!

  • Recorded in 1971
  • This is the first CD release of the 1971/72 Rock recordings made directly from the original masters
  • Slightly different mix than original so not a true reissue
  • Contains previously-unreleased tracks
  • New cover art by noted artist Raymond Bennett
  • Never before-seen photos inside
  • Tracks
      1. Savage Rock  ***   (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 3:27
      2. Magenta Mountain    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 3:03
      3. Remember    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 4:08
      4. Medicine Man    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 3:05
      5. Let Me Hear You    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 2:27
      6. Tree of Life    (Les Baxter) - 2:56
      7. Flame Tree    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 2:46
      8. Zebra    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 2:51
      9. Azure Sands    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 2:37
      10. Look Around    (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 2:18
      11. Parade  ***   (Les Baxter, Yma Sumac) - 3:12
      12. El Condor Pasa    (D.A Robles, J. Milchberg) - 4:54
      13. total play time (approx): 37:44

      Unless otherwise stated, all items are new
      Be sure to read item descriptions carefully!

      ALL SALES FINAL - Some items may be opened packages or pre-owned - ALL SALES FINAL

      Shipping: Certain items have a flat-rate Priority Mail shipping amount to U.S. addresses. For all others, shipping is calculated based on current U.S. Postal Service Small Packet rate charts and where stated, insurance is required to your location or country. There are no other shipping method options for international orders. On all others, insurance is optional although recommended. We are not responsible for lost or damaged items not limited to but including CD jewel cases, vinyl recordings etc. For orders outside the U.S., we ship only by standard Air Mail.

      Combining Shipping Charges: Although we generally ship each item separately, there may be times when it is possible to send multiple items together and save on shipping. In those cases, any overage will be refunded once the order has been shipped.

      Payment: All payments to be made via Credit Card or Bank Transfer through the PayPal system. For customers outside the U.S.A. Check here for countries available to the PayPal system and be sure to note if any restrictions apply. It is no longer required to become a member of PayPal in order to pay for items.

      Customs and Duties: There may be import duties imposed by some countries and these are not included in the purchase price. We are obligated to fill the customs forms for the proper item(s) purchase price and do not engage in fraudulent applications. Requests to report fraudulent Customs information will result in your order being cancelled without comment.

      Back to Top